Gran Sasso Mountain

Gran Sasso is the highest mountain of central Appennino.


It bordesr to the north with Fano Adriano, Pietracamela, Isola del Gran Sasso d’Italia, Castelli and Arsita, to the west-north-west with  Laga mountain chains and Campotosto Lake , separate by Valle del Vomano and the highway 80 of Gran Sasso d’Italia.


It is a environmental protected area. The institution of Gran Sasso e Monti della Laga National Park was born in 1991, and it is also the third greater protected natural reserve in Italy for territorial extension.


The Park is composed by 44 cities distributed in five provinces. Mountains area represents a territory rich in history and ancient traditions, tied up not only to agriculture, pastoralism, but also to craftsmanship and enogastronomic culture. Protected area embraces half of the cities of our district.

Itineraries of the territory